Have they read your message on Telegram?
The mechanics of WhatsApp is already well established in our lives and we know its details perfectly. We know that if a gray popcorn comes out it means that the message has not yet been received by the recipient, with two we know that it has already arrived and if they leave blue it means that you have read it. But in Telegram it is slightly different from WhatsApp.
In Telegram we also find the tick and double tick, or popcorn if you prefer to be called that. The fact is that here there is no color variation unless the appearance of the app is changed, although that is another issue and in the end it does not affect what we refer to. On Telegram there will be a only tick at the moment the message was sent regardless of whether the recipient has been able to receive it or not. Alone we will know if it has been read by the double tick, which is the same color as when only one appears.
There is no possible loss to know if someone is reading our Telegram messages or not, although unfortunately We will not be able to find out when you received it. Our recipient may have seen our message in a notification and did not open it, or he may not even have received it because of not having an internet connection, but we will not be able to differentiate these cases because in both cases a single verification signal will appear.
If it is we who we don’t have internet connection A clock symbol will appear, something identical to what happens in WhatsApp. In that case the message will not even be on the Telegram servers to be sent, so we must improve our connection so that it can be sent.
Our last connection and that of our contacts
Telegram is also slightly different from WhatsApp in terms of whether or not to show the users’ last connection. Here we meet more privacy options configurable from the settings of the iOS app itself. We distinguish three options that we can configure for ourselves and that will also condition what we see of others.
- Everybody: activating this option you will be able to show your last exact connection to all the users that look for you, whether or not they are in your contacts. You can also see that of those who allow it in their configurations.
- My contacts: In this case your last connection will be shown to those who have added contacts, but the rest you can only see states like “recently”, “a few days ago” or “a few weeks ago.” There is the option to share or not share with specific contacts.
- No one: With this configuration, nobody will be able to see your exact connection, except for the most indeterminate states like those of “recently” and company. They won’t be able to see if you’re online, but neither can you see it.
Other privacy features
Telegram also stands out for other interesting privacy features such as the possibility of Access the app using code or Face ID / Touch ID, something very useful if you don’t want a third party to access your chats without permission. We also found other interesting options regarding who can see your profile picture, who can call you or add you to groups. There is even the possibility of preventing your messages from being forwarded.
Another notable option that closes Telegram’s security settings is that of delete account automatically when we don’t use it for a certain time. This time can be 1, 3, 4, 6 or 12 months. Of course, you can change it as many times as you want, so do not be afraid if you are wearing 1 month and you will just be that time without using the app.